Kadō: Lesson Two

Do you remember kadō – The Way of Flowers? Well, after a long hiatus, I had my second lesson in traditional Japanese flower arrangement this week. There was only one other student present this time, and she could only participate for part of the class, so I was on my own with the teacher for quite a while. It was a wonderful opporunity to ask questions and take specific notes on the arrangement we made.

The plants we used were:

Mahooran
Dracaena sanderiana
 (“Lucky Bamboo”)
Kiit Ogiku (an irregular type of Chrysanthemum)

After watching the teacher create an arrangement in class, I once again brought the materials home and practiced on my own. I don’t have the knack for it yet, but I am enthralled with the process and will hopefully gain some proficiency in “keeping flowers alive” by the end of my time here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!

