Jehova’s in Japan

Serendipitous events…

I left work early today, caught a bus that I normally wouldn’t take, got off before my stop, and decided to walk the last 4km home on a backroad I have never taken before…

And I met three Japanese Jehovah’s Witnesses. Being a lover of the trusting and open culture of rural communities, I provided them with my address, first and last name, work locations, and phone number before I asked them what they were up to today.

“Going to the Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses” was the response to my inquiry.

I was fascinated, as I have never met Jehovah’s Witnesses before. I took the opportunity to learn some interesting facts:

There are currently 220,000 Jehovah’s Witnesses in Japan.
There are currently 40 Jehovah’s Witnesses in my small town of Kawamoto.
The first Jehovah’s Witness to come to Japan came from the U.S. in 1920.
I’m more than welcome at any and all Kingdom Hall meetings, which are on Sundays from 9:30am.

I apologized and said I was too busy for Bible Study, then bid them farewell and was on my way.

Now it’s time to do some research…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!

