Kannon Waterfall


A week ago a local shared the location of a little-known waterfall with me. As today was even more hot and humid than usual, I decided a trip to a waterfall might be the best choice for an adventure. I took off on my bike, and headed South for a few miles before seeing a small blue sign: Kannon Waterfall 3km. I crossed a bridge and headed down a one-lane road through a quiet little town. Eventually the road came to a dead end, and a small footpath began. The shade of the trees was a welcome relief from the heat, and the creekside path was lovely and peaceful. After about half a kilometre I began to hear the roar of the falls. I turned the corner and was met by a cool spray of mist and the sight of a family enjoying a picnic by a shrine at the base of the waterfall. The children were nude and joyful. I apologized in Japanese several times and made my way to the other side of the shallow pool at the bottom of the waterfall. The family quickly packed up and left, only slightly indicating how awkward my presence was there.

Kannon Daki (waterfall) is, at 60 metres, the tallest waterfall within the boundaries of Sakurae Town, just South of Kawamoto Town. At the base of the falls is a little folk shrine mixing Buddhist, Shinto, and Christian elements.

I relaxed in the shade, took a few pictures, and dozed for a while. It was delightful. I made an attempt to climb the side of the falls, but found it a bit too dangerous, and decided not to risk my life today.

On the way home I stopped at my favorite market and made up my own little mock CSA basket (I miss you DreamAcres!). It contained:

Eggplant, Bitter Melon, Potatoes, Yams, Okra, Peppers, Carrots, Onions, Winter Squash, Myoga (edible flower buds), and Watermelon.

It’s a good time of year to love preparing your own meals.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!

