Okinawa-Style Goya Chanpuru

Have you hear of Bitter Melon before?! I had not, and when I discovered it at the local market today, my excitement was contagious. A fellow teacher who was at the market with me told me that bitter melon is called “goya” in Japan, and that she’d translate a traditional Japanese recipe for me to prepare it with.

The recipe, called Goya Chanpuru, originated on the island of Okinawa, and is called “chanpuru” or sometimes “champloo” because it is a mixture of vegetables, reflecting the mixing of cultures on Okinawa Island. Traditionally, there would be pork and egg in this dish, but I substituted eggplant and found it to be sufficiently delicious.

The final touch is Dancing Bonito – thinly sliced dried fish that “dances” when you put it on top of the hot stir fry…pretty neat. And tasty too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts!

